Leycett 1s 235/6 (55 overs) winning draw Eccleshall 1s 127/3 (36 overs) – Leycett 11pts, Eccleshall 6pts

Eccleshall 1s are still looking for their first league win of the season after seeing their chase of Leycett’s 235 held up by the weather.

The visitors had earlier reduced Leycett to 24-2 after winning the toss and choosing to bowl, but David Speakman (77) and Richard Walker (57) shared a 144-run third-wicket partnership, that formed the platform for an impressive total, with Christian Mason’s quick-fire 24 adding some late impetus. Kiwi paceman Braden Gardner was the pick of the Eccleshall attack, claiming 3-60.

Tom Hibbert (21) and Zain Shah (55) got the Eccleshall reply off to a fine start, seeing their side past 50 before the first rain fell. After the resumption Hibbert was bowled by Tom Lawton (2-27) before another interruption halted proceedings. Lawton struck again once play resumed, bowling Myles Coughlan (10) to leave Eccleshall 94-2.

Shah and Dave Freeman (21*) upped the scoring until the former was stumped off the bowling of Ian Porter shortly before bad light brought an end to the game.

Eccleshall 2s 117/0 (25.1 overs) beat Caverswall 2s 116ao (42.4 overs) – Eccleshall 20pts, Caverswall 2pts

Jake Derry’s side completed their first win of the season in emphatic style, with a ten wicket win over Caverswall.

The skipper claimed 3-25 as Caverswall were dismissed for 116, having been 73-2 before a collapse orchestrated by Derry and his father Simon (3-21). Openers Tom Caton (26) and Craig Lancaster (42) were the only two Caverswall batsmen to reach double figures.

Eccleshall’s openers Tom Boulton (58*) and Andy Parton (51*) then eased their side to victory in the 25th over.