Eccleshall 1s 63ao (21.4ovs) lost to Cheadle 194ao (53.1ovs) – Eccleshall 5pts, Cheadle 25pts

Eccleshall fell to a disappointing defeat away at league leaders Cheadle, despite making an excellent start.

Myles Coughlan won the toss and chose to field, and Yasser Tariq dismissed opener Shaun Jenkinson in the first over. The home side then slumped to 38 for four as Tariq and Kimany Gregorie (2-54) got stuck into the Cheadle top order.

Tariq ended up with five for 84, and Matt Buttery two for 27 as Eccleshall turned the screw and reduced the hosts to 121-9, but Darren Plant (81) and youngster William Dobbie (30*) put on 73 for the final wicket before Plant was run out by Tom Boulton.

The Eccleshall reply got off to a bad start as Tom Hibbert was removed second ball, and it didn’t get much better from there as James Sellers (5-32) and Chris Barker (5-29) tore through the visitors line up to dismiss them for 63.

Yasser Tariq (19) and James Dale (13) were the only two batsman to reach double figures.

Eccleshall 2s 211/6 dec (47ovs) beat Blyth 50ao (10.5ovs) – Eccleshall 25pts, Blythe 3pts

Eccleshall 2s secured back-to-back promotions with an emphatic victory at home to third-placed Blythe.

Paul Cox won the toss and chose to bat, as openers Andy Parton (33) and Joe Derry (26) got the home side off to an excellent start.

Youngster Callum Mukerji made a patient 21 and John Ecclestone 31, but it was Jordan Beasley who stole the show with a 27-ball 52.

It was always going to be a tough ask for the visitors who only had seven players, and they were dismissed in under 11 overs, as Dave Robertson (3-24), Cox (2-17) and Simon Derry (1-3) ensured that Eccleshall will be playing in Division 1B next season.