Eccleshall 1s 173/9 (55ovs) beat Crewe 158ao (51ovs) – Eccleshall 25pts, Crewe 8pts

Eccleshall secured the maximum 25 points with a victory away at Crewe, but were indebted to Dan Lakin, whose 81 not out saved them from the brink.

Cameron Sinclair had earlier won the toss and chosen to bat, but Jake Derry’s (0) dismissal in the third over was a sign of things to come.

Andrew Pickerill’s six for 32 ripped the heart out of the Eccleshall top-order, with Yasser Tariq (35) the only member of the top six to reach double figures.

And with the visitors limping along at 63 for seven, Lakin came together with Matt Buttery (29) to repel the Crewe attack.

Lakin’s 103-ball knock included 10 fours, as he and Buttery put on 87 for the eighth wicket to give their side hope of victory, as they closed on 173/9.

The Crewe reply got off to a good start as they reached 30 before Yasser Tariq struck to remove Pickerill for 14, on his way to figures of four for 71.

Mark Hurst top-scored for the hosts with 24, and received good support from Australian Jack McIver (20), but Buttery worked his way through the Crewe middle-order, finishing with five for 18.

And despite a late 24* from number 10 Adrian Cockett, Yasser Tariq wrapped up the victory, as the home side fell 16 runs short of victory.

Eccleshall 2s 211/7dec (49ovs) beat Wedgewood 77ao (31.2ovs) – Eccleshall 25pts, Wedgewood 4pts

Paul Cox’s side continued their charge towards back-to-back promotions thanks to an emphatic win at home to Crewe.

Openers Andy Parton (66) and Connor Beasley (52) set the win up with an opening stand of 132, with assistance from Jamie Wood (19) as Eccleshall set the visitors a target of 211.

Paul Mason the pick of the Wedgewood attack with five for 68.

But Cox’s early burst of three for 27, allied with Jordan Beasley’s four for 15 put paid to their hopes as Eccleshall wrapped up a comfortable victory.

Wedgewood captain Michael Cosenes top scored with 27.