Eccleshall 1s 243/6 (52.5ovs) beat Leycett 1s 242/8 (55ovs)- Eccleshall 20pts, Leycett 8pts

Eccleshall extended their unbeaten run to five games, after chasing down 242 to win away at Leycett.

Cameron Sinclair’s men were invited to bowl, and struck an early blow as Yasser Tariq (6-92) removed opener David Speakman.

Off-spinner Jordan Wood accounted for fellow opener Richard Walker, who was well set on 32 before he was bowled.

It was a case of batsman getting in but not going on to make a big score, as Tariq dismissed Martin Mason (35), Tom Redfearn (33) and Ethan White (23), with Jamie Wood claiming the wicket of Robert Heath (33).

Some late hitting from Darren Walker (28*) saw the hosts set a formidable target.

The Eccleshall reply got off to an excellent, but somewhat fortuitous start, as openers Tom Hibbert and Jake Derry were both dropped in the slips. But neither looked back and made Leycett pay the price as they put on 96 for the first wicket, before Derry was trapped lbw on 49.

Myles Coughlan made an entertaining 30, and looked to be steering his side towards the target comfortably, but his dismissal saw Eccleshall slump from 153-1 to 157-4.

And when Tom Hibbert was lbw for 81, the visitors needed 69 off the last 15 overs, but Joe Pelter (35*), Sinclair (20) and Sam Linney (22*) saw Eccleshall home with 13-balls to spare.

Eccleshall 2s 155/9 (50ovs) beat Leycett 2s 33ao (20.2ovs) – Eccleshall 25pts, Leycett 4pts

Paul Cox’s men extended their lead at the top of Division 2B, as they recorded an emphatic victory over bottom side Leycett.

Cox may have been ruing his decision to bat, as his side fell to 9-3, but Andy Parton (36) and Matt Buttery (19) started the recovery job.

Chanaka Ekanayake top scored with 45, as Eccleshall reached 155 off of their 50-overs.

Skipper Ian Birkin (13) was the only player to reach double figures, as Buttery and Cox ran through the Leycett line-up, claiming 5-15 and 5-18 respectively, to dismiss the visitors for 33.